Groundwater Management Areas were created “in order to provide for the conservation, preservation, protection, recharging, and prevention of waste of the groundwater, and of groundwater reservoirs or their subdivisions, and to control subsidence caused by withdrawal of water from those groundwater reservoirs or their subdivisions, consistent with the objectives of Section 59, Article XVI, Texas Constitution, groundwater management areas may be created…” (Texas Water Code §35.001) Added by Acts 1995, 74th Leg., ch. 933, §2, eff. Sept. 1, 1995.

2016 DFC Resolution

For more materials pertaining to GMA 8, click the link:


Central Texas GCD

Burnet County


Clearwater UWCD

Bell County


Middle Trinity GCD

Comanche, Erath, Bosque, and Coryell Counties


North Texas GCD

Cooke, Denton, and Collin Counties


Northern Trinity GCD

Tarrant County


Prairielands GCD

Ellis, Hill, Johnson, Somervell Counties


Red River GCD

Grayson and Fannin Counties


Saratoga UWCD

Lampasas County


Southern Trinity GCD

McLennan County


Upper Trinity GCD

Wise, Montague, Parker, and Hood Counties


Gary Westbrook – Post Oak Savannah GCD

Milam and Burleson Counties



North Texas Groundwater Conservation District
PO Box 508
Gainesville, TX 76241

Telephone: (855) 426-4433
Fax: (903) 786-8211