Board of Directors

The District is governed by a 10-member board of directors — five from Milam County and five from Burleson County. Directors are appointed by the County Commissioner’s Courts to represent agriculture, municipalities, industry and rural water. The fifth director from each county is an at large representative. The 10 Directors make up the eight committees that bring recommendations to the Board.

Sidney Youngblood, Board President
Milam County – Industrial
2014 – Present

Mr. Youngblood was appointed to serve on the Board in 2013. He was elected Board President in 2016. Mr. Youngblood has worked in school furniture sales for 30 years and has lived in the Marlow community for the majority of his life. He enjoys family togetherness and the ranching lifestyle.





Steven Wise, Board Vice-President
Milam County – At Large
2014 – Present

Mr. Wise was appointed to the Board in 2013 and was elected Board Vice-President in 2016.  He is an Executive Vice President for Citizens National Bank and resides in the Liberty Community with his family on land that has been owned by his family for 80 years. He and his wife, Chanyn, have six children between them.




Tommy Tietjen, Board Secretary
Burleson County – Municipal
2012 – Present

Mr. Tietjen is on the Burleson County FSA Board, is a Go Texan Volunteer and is a sponsor member for the Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation. He is also a past Brazos Valley Chapter Chair and a member of the Texas and SW Cattle Rain Association. Mr. Tietjen resides in Burleson County with his wife and is currently self employed in the cattle business.




Lee Alford, Director
Burleson County – Industrial
2009 – Present

Mr. Alford serves as a Director on the Board of the International Brangus Breeders Association and is a Director on the Board of the Texas Brangus Breeders Association. He is also a Ruling Elder on the Session of the First Presbyterian Church of Caldwell. Mr. Alford attended the University of Texas in Austin on a football scholarship. Mr. Alford is a 5th generation rancher in Burleson County and ranches land that has been in his family since 1872. He raises both registered and commercial Brangus, Angus and Brahman cattle. He is widowed with two sons and three grandchildren.


Becky Goetsch, Director
Burleson County – At Large
2018 – Present

Ms. Goetsch has lived in Burleson County since 1983, where she met and married her husband, Gabbo. She is an active member of Elizabeth Lutheran Church in Caldwell and was the coordinator of the Elizabeth Lutheran Community Pantry for five years, where she still continues to volunteer as financial secretary. After careers with Chevron Corporation and as a certified medical transcriptionist, she currently stays busy raising cattle with her husband on land that they proudly own in western and northwestern Burleson County.


Durwood Tucker, Director
Milam County – Agriculture
2014 – Present

Mr. Tucker is a native of Milam County, graduating from Thorndale ISD. He received a degree in Agribusiness form East Texas State University and managed a Hog Marketing Corporation for 12 years. Mr. Tucker retired from Farm Bureau Insurance in 2009, where he still serves as the Milam County President. He is also the vice-chair for the St. Paul Lutheran Church Membership. Mr. Tucker is married to Darleen Cumbie Tucker and they have three children, seven grandchildren and one great-grandchild.



Robert Ware, Director
Burleson County – Rural Water
2002 – Present

Mr. Ware and his wife have owned property in Burleson county since 1991 and permanently moved to the area in 1998.They are active members of the First United Methodist Church in Somerville, where Mr. Ware has served as chairman of the Board of Trustees and the church council. He is currently serving as Assistant Fire Chief with the Birch Creek Area VFD, where he was President from 2000-2008. He has also served on the Board of Directors for Burleson County MUD # 1 since 2000, and is the current President. Mr. Ware was proudly discharged serving abroad in the U.S. Army.


Chris Whittaker, Director
Milam County – Municipal
2018 – Present

Chris Whittaker has been the City Manager of Rockdale, TX since 2014 and serves on numerous boards and committees related to local government (Texas Municipal League, Association of Rural Communities in Texas and Texas City Management Association). He is a retired Army officer with 26 years of military experience and a resident of Texas. He previously lived in Killeen, TX with the U.S. Army at Ft. Hood. He has a bachelors degree from Virginia Military Institute, a masters from American Military University and a Certification in Public Management from Texas State University. He owns his own logistic consulting company.

Jay Wilder, Director
Burleson County – Agriculture
2004 – Present

Mr. Wilder graduated from Texas A&M University with a degree in Animal Science. He is a graduate of Texas Agriculture Lifetime Leadership Program, is the president of the Texas Grain Sorghum Association and has served on the Tri-County committee with Texas Agri Life Extension as past Chairman. He is a 4th-generation farmer and he and his wife, Molly, reside on his farm in the Brazos River Bottom near Snook. Mr. Wilder has a cow/calf operation, as well as a purebred Limousine cattle operation.



Bob Wilson, Director
Milam County – Rural Water
2015 – Present

Mr. Wilson is a Vietnam Veteran having served in the 173th Airborne Brigade as a U.S. Army Captain. He served as President of the Rockdale Branch of Citizens National bank for 12 years before retiring in 2016 after a 47-year career in banking. He currently serves as President of the Southwest Milam Water Corporation and has been on their board for 10 years. He is active at First Baptist Church of Rockdale and currently serves as a Deacon and Church Treasurer. In addition, he has served as President of the Rockdale Chamber of Commerce and a member of the Rockdale Rotary Club. Mr. Wilson and his wife, Sharla, live just outside of Rockdale in County Club Estates.